Farmers Agri-Care Greytown Club Championship

On the 10th & 11th of April the Farmers Agri-Care Greytown Club Championship, sponsored by Patrick O’Sullivan, was held at the Greytown Country Club. A fantastic field of twenty five men and five ladies played thirty six holes over the course of the two days.

By the end of the first 18 holes on Saturday the Men’s A Division was lead by Skumbus Buthelezi (74 points); David Cunningham (73 points) and David Watson (72 points). The B Division was lead by Thuba Mzila and the C Division lead by Yash Sewraj.

After thirty-six holes of intense golf it came down to the wire in the Men’s A Division with Dave Cunningham & Dave Watson being equal after the two rounds, each with 146 points. This lead to a play off on the 1st, 8th and 9th holes that had the whole field of participants & caddies re-walking the course to spectate. First off was Dave Cunningham (D.C.) who shot a great drive, middle of the fairway, nearly pin high. Davie Watson (D.W.) with a bit of venom in his drive, pumped it straight over the back of the green into the rough. Cunningham came up with a good chip, leaving himself about three metres for birdie. Watson chipped up from the rough, not a bad recovery.  D.C. then stepped up & drained the putt with a great putt for birdie; Watson missed his putt & tapped in for par.

Onto the eight: Cunningham pulls his shot a bit- a little bit on the fringe on the left-hand side. Watson hits a great shot in, about three metres away. Cunningham chips up a little bit short, but still his putt, D.C. drains another great clutch putt for par. Watson misses the birdie putt, leaving himself a tap in. Unfortunately, Watson hits it a bit hard for the tap in & smacks the plastic ring of the hole, his ball popping out to sit on the lip with a very confused Watson looking at it.

They move on to the ninth, D.C. two up. Cunningham drives into the pine trees on the right, dropping down into the rough. Watson steps up, the anger of the last hole understandably showing, and he smashes his drive down the right-hand rough on the ninth. Cunningham punches out of the rough, leaving himself just short of the green. Watson steps up, hits a great pitch to about  three metres away from the pin.  Cunningham chips up close, still his put though, he drains it, its all over, Cunningham takes it from Dave Watson to win his First Club Champs Title. Well played Dave Cunningham.

The Ladies Championship was won by Linda Pieterse (36 points) whilst second and third places were secured by Mother-Daughter combo, Marianne Brown (33 points) and Hayley Brown (31 points).

Welldone to Thuba Mzila for winning the Men’s B Division with 156 points and the Best Net Score of the weekend of 132 points and congratulations to Richard Cyrus who won both the Men’s C Division and the Kohne Trohpy for the Senior Golf Champion with 69 points. Scroll down for the full list of results.

A huge thanks once again to Paddy O’Sullivan for sponsoring a wonderful weekend of golf and to Johan, Humphrey and the rest of the team at the GCC for the beautiful condition of the course this weekend.

Paddy O’Sullivan | Thuba Mzila | David Cunningham | Humphrey Msomi | Linda Pieterse | Richard Cyrus

H. J. Comins Esq 1927 Trophy

Men’s A Division Golf Champion

1stDavid Cunningham146 Points
2ndDavid Watson
3rdS. Buthelezi

The Harris Cup

Ladies Golf Champion

1stLinda Pieterse36 Points
2ndMarianne Brown33 Points
3rdHayley Brown31 Points

A.G. Downard Esq. Muden Trophy

Men’s B Division Golf Champion

1stThuba Mzila156 Points
2ndSean Brown
3rdBig Boy Ngubane

Frances, Nel & Stevens Trophy

Men’s C Division Golf Champion

1stRichard Cyrus69 Points
2ndY. Seraj68 Points
3rdO. Naidoo32 Points

Kohne Trophy

Senior Golf Champion

1stRichard Cyrus39 Points

Umvoti Bottle Store Trophy

Best Net Score

1stThuba Mzila132 Points

Men’s Longest Drive

H. Msomi

Ladies Longest Drive

Marianne Brown

Closest to the Pin

J-L Rawstorne x2

H. Msomi

Hole in One

John Mlangeni (8th Hole)

Thank you to all our participants in this weekend

B. Mlongeni
B. Pearson
B. Ngonyama
D. Brown
D. Cunningham
D. Watson
G. Larkan
H. Brown
H. Msomi
I. Khumalo
I. Meyer
J. Mlongeni
J. Ridl
J.L. Rawstorne
L. Martens
L. Pieterse
M. Brown
M. Sewraj
M. Thusi
O. Naidoo
O. Ndawonde
P. Harilal
P. O’Sullivan
R. Cyrus
S. Brown
S. Buthelezi
S. Dlamini
S. van der Merwe
T. Larkan
T. Sewraj
X. Khumalo
Y. Sewraj

Preview(opens in a new tab)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: